Traditional astrology uses the 7 ancient visible planets. These are Sun, Moon, Mercury, Venus, Mars, Jupiter and Saturn.

Uranus, Neptune and Pluto are regarded as generational planets and used in a different way. They are powerful planets when it comes to prediction.

Sun = ego, self, vitality
Moon = our emotions and responses to the world, mother, child
Mercury = communication, the messenger, journeys
Venus = love, beauty, our values
Mars = our ability to act, what drives us as individuals
Jupiter = growth and expansion, spirituality, knowledge
Saturn = is limiting and restricting, teaches us about authority and responsibility